'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The managing head of a Television Station is determined to increase the viewership of the news program that airs late in the night on his channel and also to get back his lost revenues through advertisements. The head of the department attributes this loss of audience and the decrease sponsorship to the decreased time that has been allotted to the local news and weather over the past year. However, before this recommendation can be properly analyzed, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, the head mentions 'many' complaints. Are all those complaints from different people or only a few people are repeatedly complaining? The answer to this is mandatory to solve the problem that the company is facing. If the action of increasing the time slot for local news is taken, keeping in mind the very few people who complained, again and again, The company might lose a large audience who are interesting in the national news that this channel telecasts.

Secondly, what is the exact reason for the advertisers to cancel their contract with the company? The reason may be the increased price for each advertisement on that channel. And one more reason could be the decreased rates for advertising in the competitor's channel. If the sponsors are looking out for a relatively lower price, giving discounts to them as a part of any offer would help the company regain the lost deals.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to a lack of proper pieces of evidence. If the managing director is able to answer the above-mentioned questions with proper reasoning, then the viability of decreasing the time allotted to national news and increasing the same for local news can be properly evaluated.