The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the TV station business manager, the author suggests that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its initial levels. He arrives at this conclusion primarily due to the increased number of complaints received and cancellation of advertising contracts. However, in order to effectively evaluate this argument, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, are we certain that local businesses have canceled their contracts with the TV station due to its lesser coverage of weather and local news? Maybe the advertising agents simply received budget cuts and did not have the means to pay for their commercials anymore. Further, it is possible that a competing television station provided the ad agency with a better deal, and so they chose to partner with the rivals instead. If either of these two situations has merit, the argument would be considerably weakened. Hence, it cannot be assumed that the devotion of extra time to national news is the primary cause of the canceled contracts.

Secondly, what was the reason for the viewers' complaints of the station's coverage of weather and local news? The author prematurely assumes that the audience is unhappy with the time spent on covering weather and local news. However, this may not be the case. Viewers may not be satisfied with the range of topics covered by the local news; they may want to hear more about politics and education as opposed to the, currently, in-depth coverage of local crime. Or perhaps residents have consistently been unprepared for thunderstorms due to inaccurate weather forecasts stating sunny, clear skies. If either of these scenarios were true, then the business manager's claim does not hold water.

Finally, if the TV station were to revert to its original airing pattern, is there any guarantee that the company will not continue to lose viewers and revenues? Over the course of a year, peoples' habits are susceptible to change. It is possible that people do not watch the TV anymore for news, but instead listen to podcasts to keep up with current events, or read weather forecasts on their iPhone. Had the author provided proof explicitly stating that viewers would be drawn back to their late-night program if they spent less time on national news, then perhaps this argument would be valid. However, since this information has not been provided, and if the two cases above were to be true, the author's argument lacks foundation.

In conclusion, the business manager of the television statement makes several unwarranted statements regarding the success (or lack thereof) of his station. If he were to answer the questions above, and perhaps, provide evidence (about viewers demands and the advertising company's requirements) in the form of a comprehensive study, then we may begin to evaluate the argument with more credibility.