texting or calling

Over a century ago, Alexander Graham Bell came up with one of the most revolutionary technological inventions: the telephone. To think communication could not get simpler, with the advent of smarter phones, text messaging soon came along. While I understand that talking over the phone provides a more personal experience. I prefer communication through instant messaging for the following reasons

First and foremost, when you are texting you have the liberty to respond whenever you are free. There is no obligation from either party to respond immediately, and so, I feel that the pressure is relieved from both sides to provide a response at supersonic Speed! As a child, I would always get nervous whenever I wanted to make a phone call to my friends to ask for help for homework because I was never sure if they were busy or not. That nervousness has manifested itself into "phone-call anxiety" for me even as an adult because all-too-often, my friends' parents would always pick up and scold me to say that their kids were not freely had been able to text any of them instead. I would not have had to worry about bothering their families repeatedly with incessant phone calls until I got the help I needed. Instead, my friends would have just responded whenever they saw the message.

Further texting makes communicating between different time zones much easier, Often, we have to consider time differences when we are trying to get in contact with people who live across the country. or even around the world. My best friend lives in Texas, but I live in India, which. undoubtedly, can cause problems when we try to keep in touch. If I wanted to call her I would first have to calculate the time difference figure out a suitable time for both of us to clear up my schedule, and then call her. Around 10 years ago, we agreed to talk to each other on a weekly basis but because we had to wait so long until the other was free we often got caught up in our own work and forgot about the call altogether Now we just use instant messaging apps like WhatsApp to check up on each other, and if we are both online at the same time agree to join a video call. This saves more time and is more convenient than crafting an elaborate schedule just in order to call each other.

Finally, texting is beneficial in situations where the user needs to be quiet. Such a scenario may arise when a person is in a m!eeting during a lecture or even if they are in danger! For example, many crisis hotlines respond to text messages in potential hostage or kidnapping situations. When a víctim is hiding from the perpetrator, they need immediate help, and having to make a call to 911 would be a serious threat to their safety and security. Testing the police station allows the person to discreetly communicate their problem to the appropriate officials, without having to worry about being found by the criminal. In such cases, one simple 30-second call could cost the person's life Hence, firmly believe that texting is better than voice calls.

I admit that the entire range of human emotions can not be expressed effectively only via text, and sometimes phone calls are. indeed, preferable. However the vast majority of the time, texting is more flexible, convenient, and even safer than a traditional phone call.