Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Wernher Von Brauhn once said, “Research is what I’m doing when I don’t know when I’m doing.” This quote, however, is not exclusive to the German Aerospace Engineer; the outcomes of scientific research are often uncertain, but not always unyielding. The prompt suggests that that government funding should not be provided for scientific research with unclear consequences. While I understand there are limitations to this argument, I mostly disagree with this suggestion for two reasons.

To begin, many of the most groundbreaking scientific discoveries were fortuitous. In other words, “happy accidents” would be an appropriate term to categorize such inventions. For instance, Percy Spencer, an engineer in 1946 was working on a radar project when he noticed a chocolate bar in his pocket slowly melt. While the first microwave weighed 750 pounds, technology has developed a long way since then, and most households could not imagine daily life without their compact “chocolate-bar-melters”. Thus, while the outcomes of certain ventures may be ambiguous, restricting their scope will only derail societies from progressing from a scientific and technological perspective. Perhaps the vaccine for the novel Coronavirus lies in the hands of a young pharmacologist, but if his research is defunded due to the “potential consequences”, we may never know!

Further, even if we do make unexpected discoveries, is that not the entire premise of scientific research- to discover the unknown? NASA has poured billions of dollars into space research, and still, over decades of trying to understand the universe, our understanding of black holes, the formation of the universe, and astronomical theories is meager. Whether it may be finding a cure for the Coronavirus or trying to discover the most efficient renewable energy source, humans have relentlessly continued to try finding solutions to these seemingly plausible issues. Had governments rejected the claims of scientists to delve into the unknown, we never would have gained insights into these vast and intriguing realms of the universe. Even if the outcomes do not yield the answers we are in search of, there is no doubt that there is a tremendous amount of knowledge acquired in the process.

It should, however, be considered that not all scientific research is done for the greater good. Several scientists and companies around the world are primarily concerned with their own profit, and often disregard their impacts on others or the environment. For example, several clothing and cosmetics companies, including OPI, Victoria’s Secret, and Maybelline, were recently defamed after claims that most of their product research is done on animals. Many may argue that pigs, rats, and dogs have been used for scientific research for centuries and that this should not come as a shock. However, with more people becoming cognizant of animal cruelty, and with access to modern technology, alternative solutions to such unethical methods should either be devised, or restrictions must be imposed in order to avoid any potential harm done.

In conclusion, defunding research with ambiguous consequences closes up many doors of opportunity in medical and scientific research. While measures should be taken in order to avoid the exploitation of resources and lives, curbing scientific discovery, in the long-term, would do more harm than good.