Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences

Everything we learn, we learn from teachers. The prompt states that educational institutions should require their faculty to spend time, apart from academics, in their field of teaching. While I understand that there are limitations to this argument, I strongly disagree for three reasons.

It is no secret that teachers and professors already have a very hectic schedule; between creating course outlines, grading tests, offering office hours, and teaching, academics work sedulously to be of utmost help to their students. Thus, if there were a requirement for all faculty to dedicate additional time to working in, most likely another full-time job, this may compromise the quality of work in teaching as well as the required profession. For example, if a UX Design professor at a university were required to work a 9-5 at a newly established tech-startup, that would leave him very little time to perform his university obligations. He would succumb to the pressure of having two jobs, potentially risk having to miss meals or lose sleep, and ultimately perform neither job satisfactorily. Thus, there would be insufficient time for a teacher to do both of his jobs justice.

Further, the implementation of such a stringent policy restricts the pool of potential teachers to a minuscule amount. Suppose a university is looking to hire an English Literature teacher. A prospective candidate may be highly qualified, suppose she was on the Dean's List all throughout college, has a Master's and a Ph.D. in English Literature, and aces the interview with flying colors. Everything about this candidate may make her a perfect fit for this job, but her inability to find another job, perhaps due to an economic recession, means that the college is missing out on an exceptional candidate that could add value to the campus. Hence, requiring all faculty to work outside the academic world in their relevant field of study narrows the scope for potential candidates, leaving a college with very few options of professors to choose from.

Finally, a faculty member's happiness is imperative to their success in their position. Research has proven time and again that happiness is the most important factor in determining one's success at a job. Often, professors choose to pursue academia rather than other jobs in their field simply due to their passion for teaching. For example, a Computer Science professor may have experience working as a Software Development Engineer for a Multinational Corporation, but felt bogged down by the demanding work hours, the lack of freedom to pursue projects of her own interest, and constantly having to report to a higher authority. Her decision to pursue academia full-time could be in order to have the liberties to teach and conduct research about a topic that she loves without the pressure of a competitive work environment. Thus, requiring professors to spend time outside of school in their field of interest, may result in a lack of morale; it is possible that this is pushing these faculty towards exactly what they were trying to get away from in the first place!

It would be remiss to say that requiring professors to work in their fields outside of their college would be completely detrimental to their performance. It is true that working may expand their horizons, allowing them to combine their textbook knowledge with real-world experiences, and push them outside of their comfort zone that is their academic bubble. This may, however, not always be the case. So, in conclusion, I believe that the suggestion that teachers should obligate all faculty members to pursue careers outside of academia alongside teaching, is impractical, and in the long run, would do more harm than good.