Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Choosing a university is not a trivial decision. Students spend most, if not all, of high school working sedulously to maintain the highest GPA, racking up the most unique extracurriculars, and maintaining a remarkable rapport with teachers in the hopes that a great recommendation letter, and ultimately, a stellar university acceptance, will be the fruits of their labor. The prompt suggests that students from lower-income households who have secured admissions into universities should not have to pay any university tuition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that universities consider the needs of their prospective students in order to give these students an opportunity to explore their interests and start a career.

It is no secret that a university education often requires families to save up money for years, perhaps decades, to provide for their children's tuition fees. Often, students coming from low-income households do not have the privilege to be provident and create a savings account. It is not uncommon for families to live from paycheck to paycheck, squandering just to make sure that everyone at home has food in their bellies and a roof over their heads at night. For instance, in the United States, children from lower and middle-income households cannot afford tuition at 95% of the universities in the country. If students were to apply to colleges purely from an affordability perspective, that would leave them with a very small pool of choice, in which case they would still have to consider other factors which may be unfavorable such as distance from home, an abundance of educational opportunities within their fields of interest, and diversity. The example above illustrates that students are often not in control of their academic potential when they come from lower socioeconomic backgrounds. Even if students were to consider taking out loans and grants to afford college, they could potentially land in a situation worse than one in which they started, unable to repay hundreds and thousands of dollars in debt ten years down the line.

Further, education should be provided to students who have earned it through their own merit, simply for the sake of equality; there are many cases in which intelligent students cannot go to university because they are poor, and lazy students can go because they are rich. In an age where unskilled labor jobs are being hastily replaced by Artificial Intelligence, it is imperative, now more than ever, to increase levels of specialization for students in lower-income households. Free education for lesser privileged students would be encouraging them to learn tasks that cannot be merely done by a robot! In failing to do so, wealthier students would be left to progress in fields like technology, while the unskilled laborers end up unemployed as their jobs fizzle out before they inevitably become obsolete. This is simply a case of the rich becoming richer, while the poor become poorer. Consider the case of grocery store clerks who are slowly being eliminated as their jobs can be performed meticulously by automatic scan-and-stack machines, with little to no human interaction, and in almost less than half the time of traditional employees. Lower-income students are not provided with the same flexibility and opportunities as children whose families are financially stable, and as a result may eventually have no other option but to forego higher education, increasing the gap between the rich and the poor.

While it is true that not all governments may not have the means to fund higher education for all students who cannot do so themselves, in making university free, countries are merely investing in their own future. Many jobs today require very specific knowledge; making university free will not only provide equal opportunities to students across the socioeconomic spectrum but will make society better equipped to handle the challenges of tomorrow.