The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that a prohibition to skateboarding will result in the revival of business in Central Plaza. The author comes to this conclusion by citing that the lack of business is attributed to the increased litter and vandalism supposedly caused by the skaters. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how are we to assume that the fall in the number of shoppers is due to the increased popularity in skateboarding? In other words, can the circumstances introduced by the skateboarders be used to make generalizations and predictions about the Plaza's success? It is possible that the two are not related at all-- Perhaps the economy has plummeted over the course of two years and citizens do not have the means to shop as regularly as they were two years prior. Further, there is a possibility that another competing shopping complex has recently opened up nearby, and the customers that once visited Central Plaza are now frequenting the new complex instead. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is there any confirmation that the litter and vandalism throughout the Plaza are the skateboarders' fault? In the argument, the author prematurely assumes that the untidiness throughout the plaza is the skateboarders' responsibility. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps new stores/restaurants have opened up in the proximity without garbage cans nearby for people to dispose of their trash. It is also possible that recent social unrest has sparked vandalism all throughout the city, not exclusively the Central Plaza. If the above is true, the argument in the editorial does not hold water.

Finally, even if skateboarding was banned in the Central Plaza, would these restrictions even be followed? Establishing a ban does not necessarily mean that skateboarders will adhere to the new rules. They may continue to spend time around the plaza, nonchalant in response to the newly imposed restrictions. It is also possible that prohibiting the skateboarders may actually have a counterintuitive effect. The ban may cause disruption amongst the skateboarding community, and consequently, they may either protest or deter other citizens from visiting the mall at all, inciting bias or unfair regulations. If hypothetically, either of the two situations above were to occur, then the author's main conclusion would lack foundation.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of a proposed suggestion to prohibit skateboarding in the Central Plaza.