The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is no secret that technology has vastly simplified day-to-day tasks that people, perhaps from before the Industrial Revolution, would have never thought imaginable. And with advancements in technology throughout the years, increased efficiency has undoubtedly been a byproduct. The prompt suggests that the primary objective of increased efficiency is proportionally greater leisure time. While I understand there are merits to this argument, I disagree with this prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, increased efficiency does not necessarily guarantee more leisure time. In fact, in the recent past, quite the opposite has held true! Suppose a father of two spends six days of the week at the car factory he owns. His factory may produce 6,000 cars a day, as opposed to a century ago, when a single factory could manage to produce only 6. Yet, this man has to spend 72 hours per week managing the manufacturing process in order to meet the rising automobile demands. Consequently, he may be left with little or no time to do chores, spend time with his family, or even do the bare minimum like eat or sleep. Thus, greater efficiency results in commensurate demands in greater productivity- as technology continues to make our lives simpler, we become keener and keener to live faster-paced lives, leaving negligible time for us to even think about leisure!

Further, there are more critical issues to tackle with respect to technological advancements as opposed to merely increasing efficiency. Medical imaging, for example, is a field that has made remarkable advances in the last 70 years, without which detecting trauma to the body would be nearly impossible. Of course, performing an x-ray was increasingly different when the discovery was initially made compared to the present. While it may have taken nearly an hour to get the skeletal image of someone’s ankle in the 1950s, it only takes seconds to do the same today. Instead of conducting research on how to shorten this process to a fraction of a second, it may be more worthwhile to divert that effort and time into more pressing issues, such as a COVID-19 imaging test. These imaging modalities could be a potential alternative to the uncomfortable, invasive nasal swabs that are currently, unfortunately, the only option. Thus, technological advancement should seek to not only simplify daily tasks but to introduce alternative solutions as well.

It would, however, be remiss to say that efficiency and leisure time are completely unrelated. Inventions like the Roomba, a sensor-based vacuum, have almost completely diminished the need for manual sweeping. Vacuum cleaning an entire carpeted house could potentially take upwards of an hour, but the Roomba saves you the trouble. This extra time could be utilized for leisure, and ultimately is the result of technological advancement. That is not to say that the primary purpose of purchasing a Roomba is for extra leisure time; the purchase may simply be because it is more convenient than traditional sweeping, or more economical than hiring a cleaner twice a week.

In conclusion, technological advancements have undoubtedly increased efficiency in innumerable ways- transportation, cleaning, research, and more. Greater efficiency is not synonymous with increased leisure time, however, and if our motivation is driven by this belief, our efforts to progress in society will be short-lived.