All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is no secret that managing a large company is not a one-man (or a one-tiny group) job; it is only natural for people to need help once in a while. The prompt suggests that the need to hire consultants would be diminished if the employees' opinions were taken into consideration instead. While I understand there are limitations to this argument, I strongly agree with this claim for three reasons.

Firstly, the employees of the companies have the firm's best interests at heart. Thus, they have no ulterior motives to improve the status of the firm. For instance, the demographic of a men’s athleisure company would be men who regularly exercise, and are in need of comfortable, yet functional workout-gear. Based on experiences and trends in the athleisure market, employees of this brand may have observed that their compression shorts are an increasingly popular product, and once released, due to their existing demand, will require little to no advertising. And so, it would make sense perhaps to divert resources to advertising their nylon sweat-wicking shirts, or enhancing their quality. A consultant, however, may suggest reallocating resources to more aggressive advertisements for the high-demand compression shorts, simply because his agency receives a large percentage of the revenue from this particular product. Hence, employees are more likely to work for the greater good of their own company.

Secondly, a firm's employees typically know the firm inside-out. Those working in the company are more likely to have a thorough understanding of its inner workings, as opposed to the consultants who have been suddenly introduced. Suppose a make-up brand is considering launching a new mascara- they have released multiple mascaras in the past, and gone through several different formulae to arrive at a product that suits the demands of the public. Previously, they learned that most women are more concerned with lash length than volume, and so have formulated this new mascara accordingly. A consultant, unaware of the company's past inability to sell volumizing mascara, may suggest exactly what caused the previous sales to fail. It would take a considerable amount of time for a consultant to learn about the dynamics of the company, and thus, the time spent on acquiring this knowledge could ultimately be considered wasteful.

Finally, the capital utilized to hire outside consultants could potentially be used to benefit the company elsewhere. If employees are lacking incentive, would a pay raise potentially be more effective at increasing efficiency- that too, at a fraction of the price. Resources may also be used to invest in more Research & Development to ensure that the products or services sold by the company are of the highest quality. Instead of running the risk of wasting resources on a consultant who is not guaranteed to be useful, it may be more worthwhile to support the company from within.

It would be remiss to say that all consulting agencies are cynical and inefficient. In some cases, they may bring about positive changes like a 80% rise in productivity, increased wages for employees, and greater revenues. However, these outcomes are not guaranteed. So, in conclusion, I believe that companies would benefit from listening to their employees rather than hiring consultants. Perhaps if the firm was not required to invest an extravagant amount of the consultant, and the return of investment was guaranteed, then it may be worth considering, but such a gamble may have dire consequences.