The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument about Apex Corporation is lacking copious amounts of data and is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, it is based on the unwarranted assumption that certain advertising tactics will keep its sales alive and support its growth to become the "hot" product in the market. This is not supported by the prompt and hence, renders its main conclusion, invalid.

To begin, the company is banking on the plain assumption that the coffee will advertise itself. We do not even know whether the increased demands of artisan coffee would be satisfied by bringing in an alternate product into the market, let alone if "word-of-mouth" would help the sales stay afloat. Had the argument included facts about the specifics of the "in-demand" coffee, it would be clear whether Apex Corporation's new coffee line would be the hot-topic or not. If the high demand artisan coffee was also made by Apex Coporation, then it would be more fair to assume that people would flock to buy it. However, the argument would still have to further prove whether they would be interested in a new line of coffee at all, which if they were not, would be counterintuitive from a sales perspective.

Further, the prompt leaves many other questions unanswered. It suggests that Apex Corp will advertise their new coffee on television and radio, which they hope will cause their sales to skyrocket. How are we supposed to arrive at the conclusion that the target audience for artisan coffee had heard about similar products over television and radio? Suppose the prospective customers had found out about competing artisan coffee grounds via targeted ads on YouTube, or the newspaper, then their attempts at TV and radio advertisement would be futile. Had there been information explicitly stating that people are initially drawn to coffee advertisements on the television, then this argument would have a stronger ground. However, to still assume that the demands of the customers will be met by this product, even if radio and TV ads were initially what reeled them in, would be without basis.

Finally, the argument fails to mention the tentative timeline for which they plan to execute this sale. When will they release the line of coffee? How long will it take before it reaches the supermarkets? When will we see the advertisements on the TV and hear them on the radio? If the entire project were to take approximately six months, then perhaps the increased demand for coffee would remain high. However, if this entire process were to take a year or more, we would not be able to predict fluctuations in the demand. People may not even want artisan coffee anymore, or maybe a competitor would have already released a superior product by then. Nonetheless, this is a significant factor to consider, which the prompt has failed to do.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, lacks clarity and cogency, it fails to make a convincing case that "Gourmet Select" can become close to the number 1 seller in the coffee market.