All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In recent times, studying abroad has become increasingly popular amongst college students, whether their goals are gain exposure and absorb the rich cultural history of foreign countries, or simply because they assume they are embarking on a semester-long vacation! The prompt suggests that all students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying abroad. While I agree with the prompt and believe students should travel and attend classes at a foreign university, I understand that there may be some limitations to this argument.

To begin with, college students are preparing themselves to enter the real world. If they become too acquainted with their cozy dorm rooms and never travel beyond Greek row, they run the risk of developing inadequate interpersonal and communication skills, either in a professional or day-to-day environment. For instance, a college senior who spends all her weekdays in classes, labs, and her weekends sitting in bed watching Netflix all-day, is coddled by the comfort of a familiar environment. Upon graduating, she may be catapulted into a hectic 9-5 work environment ridden with social anxiety, where she is a small fish in a big pond just waiting to get swallowed. In such situations, the only way to adapt to situations that the future may possess is to learn to step out of his or her comfort zone. Studying abroad for a semester would force such students to leave their dorms, travel, meet new people, and interact with others around them.

Secondly, even if one were to assume that a student studying in a foreign country was a total introvert, he or she would undoubtedly gain a better understanding of how people around the world live differently from themselves. Thus, undergraduate students learn to accept and acknowledge differences while appreciating new cultural traditions. The sight of an Indian family eating rice with their hands and leaving shoes at the front door of the house is anything but a lucid concept to the American undergraduate they are hosting. By exposing themselves to situations they are unfamiliar with, college students learn through experience, as opposed to merely reading through pages of monotonous text. In the process, people eventually become more understanding and accepting of diversity in society, qualities that are imperative to graceful interactions, negotiations, and discussions should they deal with such scenarios in the future.

Of course, it is inevitable that a few students may abuse the privilege of studying abroad. Rather than visiting historical sites, or picking up a new language, some students find themselves merely on a four-month-long vacation. Suppose a student spends his entire semester partying in Barcelona, he may come back home to see that his lax attitude and rash behavior has caused him to receive Fs in all the classes he signed up for, setting him back an entire 12 credits. Though such may be unavoidable to some extent, we cannot assume that the majority of students spending a semester away from their home universities will slack academically, granted that they generally have to satisfy a minimum GPA requirement in order to be approved for such programs at all.

In conclusion, although there are some justifiable concerns about studying abroad, it is overall an enlightening experience that anyone can benefit from. As long as a university has the assurance that a student is traveling for the right reasons, I believe everyone should have the option to do so.