The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is logically presented, but conclusively plausible.

It is not clearly indicated as to why the late-night program has devoted more time to national news and reduces the time allotted for the local and business news. The fact that most complaints recieved from viewers were concerned with the stations' coverage of weather and local news is not sound enough to justify why local business cancelled their advertising contracts.

Local businesses may cancelled their advertising contracts simply because, people are not watching late-night news or perhaps the number of viewers of the program decreases over the past year.

Restoring the time devoted to weather and local news is ineffective of safeguarding any further loss of advertising revenue, because, even if the time is restored, most people complained that the are concerned about the station's coverage and so they may likely not patronize the station as viewers talk less of attracting more viewers.

Moreover, restoring the weather and local news time alone is not a guarantee to attract more viewers, the station may have to launch a campaign or perhaps improve the standardization of its program presentation, which is not explicitly stated in the argument.

The premises of the argument were not in agreement with each other and so it is not cogent to conclude that restoring the time allotted to weather and local news will prevent the station from losing any further advertising revenues.