The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memorandum concludes that the television station should increase its time devoted to weather and local news instead of national news in order to attract more viewers and advertising contracts. The author's conclusion is potentially valid, but before the conclusion can be adequately assessed, he must provide following three pieces of evidence.

First of all, the largest leap in the argument is the assumption that the trend of reducing viewers and advertising contracts might continue for the future. Here, the author is too much pessimistic about the future and quickly jumped to the conclusion without deliberate thinking. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the television viewers are busy now these days and have not much time to view the late night shows. Also, it is possible that in near upcoming days, the new business corporations would be established in the city and consequently the advertising contracts may increase. If either of above scenarios are true, the conclusion drawn by author is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author lacks depth of details on the assumption of causal relationship between reduced time to weather and local news and number of television viewers and advertising contracts. However, this might not be true. Maybe the increased national news volume did not contain reliable news contents or the contents of national news were not interesting to the audience. Such that the number of viewers got reduced. In addition, local businesses - that used to advertise regularly before- might have bad business issues with the owner of the television, or those businesses might have bankrupted. If these cases prove to be true, the argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, the author assumes that complaints on station's weather and local news received from viewers are solely regarded to less time devoted to these programs. But, it might not be true. It is possible that they had complained not for increasing the time allocation rather for including relevant and accurate contents. If this is true, the author's contention is seriously weakened.

To sum up, the author's conclusion seems like a plausible argument at first glance, but, on closer scrutiny, it falls apart. The author must provide above mentioned evidence to buttress his argument.