The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo has alleged that there is a direct relation between the reduction of local news and weather news and the number of viewers and advertising contracts. Although his reasoning looks cogent at the first glance and it may have such direct relation, when delve deeper into the reasoning of the memo, we could find that the memo stayed on some assumptions that may not always correct. Thus, I could not accept this memo as it is for three reasons that I explain now.

First of all, the author alleged that the number of viewers decreased due to changing in the programs from local concentration to international ones. He mentioned the number of complains as a sign of his reasoning but he did not mention any statistical information about the number of complains. We can imagine other possibilities for this issue. For instance, the number of different people who complain could make clear the situation. It is possible that a few persons complain thousands times and complains are not done by different people. If this is the case, it is possible that people may not satisfied by other part of programs but if we conduct changes in the television program according this complains, it means we just consider the opinions of a few persons that complain for thousands times instead of considering majority of audiences.

Moreover, even we accept the reasoning of the writer in above, we again could not accept canceling advertisement contract is necessarily is related to the changing program. For instance, it may that another television suggest an attractive contract to companies and their manager prefer to work with them. If this is the case, the manager of the television should concentrate of advertising price and contract instead of changing the program.

Finally, the author assumes that there is just one way for increasing the number of viewers and it is increasing the time of local news and weather. Although this way may work, it is possible that they can find other options for attracting audience. For instance, they may find adding talk show or comedy show could incline the number of viewers. To find best way to increase the viewers of the television, the company should conduct a scientific investigation and then according to the result they could decide what they can do to change the situation in both the number of viewer and advertising contracts.

In conclusion, the reasoning that provided by the author has several holes and assumptions that may not hold true for all of the time. To make the memo more persuasive and reliable, the author should provide additional information to eliminate other possibilities. The readers would find it more cogent if they see other options would not work.