The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a

television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted

increased time to national news and less time to weather and local

news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from

viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during

our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising

contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its

former level.

The argument made by the late-night news program is based on a lot of assumption some of which are not very cogent. The television station's change in policy form a focus on weather and local news to a focus on national news while that may bring about negative reviews and loss of advertising revenues does necessarily call for a switch back to the old program.

Firstly, the manager of the Television station is assuming that the switch is causing them to lose advertisment and viewership, when the may in fact just be putting out contents that do not appeal to the viewers. A proper analysis of their viewers should be made in order to find out if the users really do have a disdain for national news or are they just not getting their desired content. The Television station could still broadcast their national news along with contents that their viwers have interest in. For example in addition to news they may also broadcast cartoons which appeal more to children whereass majority of their viewers are adults.

Also, the television station needs to check if their focus on national news is causing their viewers to miss a lot of prominent news occuring locally and in the weather. Perharps there have been some local abnormalities that the viewers missed due to the TV station failing to broadcast it, and now they are enranged. This may indicate that their complaints, while they may seem general are simply specific on particular issues and as result does not call for a complete reversal altogether. Maybe if the TV station looked at the trend over a long time to determine what the viewers really want to see, they could make a better decision.

Finally, the Television station could use this as a opportunity to widen the target. A nation wide audience would probably bring in more revenue as they would have more viewers and could charge the advertising contractors more money. If they were to carry out more analyses on the possibilty of expanding, they could in fact potentially increase their revenue exponentially.

Therefore, proper research into reason causing them to lose viewers and contracts need to be made, and if they can find a way to curb it while maintaining the increased national news time before the make a decision to revert to majorly broadcasting local news and weather.