: A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Every contigent of people, whether a small village, or a large nation has a constitution by which the are guided. This constitution, previously agreed upon by the people is the set laws which binds them and would often contain punishment to be metted out on individuals who deviate from these laws. Every individual member of this group should have an apt understanding of these laws and their corresponding punishments, and is expected to abide by them. An individual who goes against these laws knowingly has broken the social contract, and should be punished accordingly. However, there are limits to which these punishments should be carried out and under various circumstances, as life is not always black and white. Severity of punishment should not be extreme, rather should commensurate the crime and circumstance, and individauls should definetely not lose their civil rights completely.

While the laws of the land might clearly state the punishments deserving for a particular crime, it should be understood that the circumstances for this crimes are not always similar and as a result should be taken into account. For example, should a mother who stole food to feed her hungry children be punished similar a teenager who stole a phone? While they are both guilty of stealing, the circumstances differ in that the former acted in a feat of neccesity, while the latter acted in a feat of ostentiatiousness. It would be rather extreme for mother who only acted from a place of love for her kids to have undergo a cruel fate such as loss of civil rights and practical slavery.

Also, statistics have shown that most criminals are not likely to be second offenders as most of their crimes were only due to misguidiance in the first place. Upon correction and guidiance which they receive the correctional facilities the number of cases of criminals who turned their life around far surpasses the cases of recedivism. Take former South African president Nelson Mandela for example. He had commited a number of crimes in his youth and was imprisoned, but he managed to turn his life around and led his country to independence. If he had been wriiten of the first time, stripped of all his civil rights and practically enslaved, the world would have been robbed of a great man.

One might argue that every member of society acts in their own best intrests when they commit crimes and their victims also suffer, so therefore there should be no second chances, but the truth is that some of society's laws are extreme and at some point everyone must have broken them. We shoild all look towards each other with com

People should always be given second chances because as humans we are prone to mistakes. Sometimes all it takes is some guididnace to turn even the most recalcitrant teenagers into great adults.