The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the statement made by the business manager he states his concern about the ways to attract more viewers and advertisers during a late night news program being aired on his television station. He states how increasing the coverage time of national news over weather and local news have led to a decline in viewers for the show and states ways to get back more viewers and extra advertising revenues. But before we can evaluate his argument, we need these extra evidences.

First of all, this statement is all verbose and no relevant data. No data has been presented by him to back either his worry or his remedies to get viewers as well as advertisers back. We need exact number of viewers company had before this change and after change. We also need the number of complaints being recieved before and after the change. Maybe, the late night news report have never been a popular show having a low viewers base. Maybe the city would be a early sleeper and the program not interesting enough to keep them awake a night. If this is the case, then no matter what they change in the show, it will always have a low number of people watching it. Any maybe, some notorious elemts call them and complaint about the show just to kill their night time. So, we need exact numbers here to better analyze the situation.

Secondly, the motivation behind this chance may be some sort of corruption. The show is a late night news show making it obvious to get less number of viewers because people doing all the hard work in the day needs to chill a little bit out in the night. So, maybe they would rather watch some light movie or listen to some music on television late at night instead of watching any news- be it, national, waether or local. And the manager is persistently talking about advertising contracts making things a bit skeptical. Maybe, he has some local friend who wants cheap television advertisement and maybe he is helping him out by making these changes and making the show a local show for the local people which would help his friend more than the company itself. So, we again need proper data regarding adversting revenues before and after the changes. Maybe, he is making a big fuss out of a small change in adverstiment revenue. Sometime, managers get overexcited and thinks of making a small change which could change the world- according to them. Maybe, here we have a similar case. So, without analyzing properly all the aspects, the company should not bring about changes.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide us with the aforesaid evidenes, we can evaluate the argument made by him more clearly and then make a proper decision that if we need a change in the show or not.