The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim made, favors a sense of cooperation and not competition to prepare young people in different fields for leadership skills. The claim makes direct comparison between cooperation and competition and makes cooperation skills stand out against competition. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim made and advocate for competitive skills for promoting leadership skills in youth for these reasons.

First of all, if there is no competition and just cooperation in any office or organisation, life would become as easy as cake walk. People will start relying upon others for their job as they would feel that their is always someone who would cooperate and get the job done. Life would become so easy and stable for any employee. But this is just opposite to the scenario of real world where there is stiff competition for anything. People have to fight to get even a meager job. There is so much competition out there in the real world so we must incorporate competitive sense in the youth as early as possible.

Further, competition gives birth to a real leader. Even a high school soccer team always has a captain who is mostly the best of all the players. People compete to become captain. Its a prestigious post which cannot be achieved just by cooperation skills rather one must be highly competitive and show that he or she is the best in the pack to be a leader. There is a difference between a player and a captain. Captain is the best of all players mostly. While others may be rested for a game or maybe even for a whole season, the captain is the one who has got no day off. He is always representating his team; be it in the game or off the field. So, leadership skills can be incorporated in someone by putting him or her in real competition and testing his competitive skills.

Examinations are also a way of competition only. Everyone studying the same corse, studies in the same class, from the same teacher but still exams are important as they are a way to tell and show everyone that this particular student is the best of all. Cooperation is seen in classroom as students may share their notes and all but in the end everything depends on the final examination which is the real competition. Many a times the topper is made the class representative or leader as he is believed to be more competent than others for the competitive post of a leader. Even right now I am writing this examination to show that I am competitive as I didn't shy away from GRE even though it has been waived off by some universtites. This will surely give me an edge over others who didn't give GRE as it will show my competitive skills.

Of course, some may argue that cooperation is better as it brings a sense of team work. But one must always remember that any team has a leader always if it wants something productive out of it as competition is really important in this modern world. One who is able to compete is the one who is having good leadership skills which is highly required in this competitive world.