The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this exerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum it is stated that they are looking forward to make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students as the future will be dominated by technology and thses corses would help them get a good pay and live a fulfilling life. However, before this recommendation can be fully evaluated, we need some specific evidence.

First of all, the School Board mentions that the future will be dominated by technology but they don't specify which one and assume computer programming as the future technology. In fact, it seems that they don't even know about it and they are just speaking vaguely. There are other future technology as well - automobile, electronics, etc. But they take computer programming as granted. Before School Board puts up something as a compulsion on the high school students and that too for four full years, they need to examine the future scope of all the technologies not just merely one- computer programming. They need evidence about other technologies and their future scope as well before making such a harsh claim on the students.

Moreover, no one should try to predict the future and atleast not at the expense of childrens' dreams. As we have seen, all of a sudden, this coronavirus pandemic came out of nowhere and made us prioritize the medical facilities. Right now, the medical department is the highest priority for any country. If we go back two years back, no one could have predicted about the boom this sector has got all of a sudden. So, rather than making claims about the future and future scope of a sector and its employability, we should give the levege to the high school students to shape their own future, They must decide what they want to achieve rather than putting up something as a compulsion upon them.

The School Board also makes a bold claim about the future lifestyle of present high school students. According to them, getting a high paying programming job would lead to a 'fullfilling' life. This is an absurd claim to make as someone who is currently in the high school and is really interested in the arts; be it painting or writing novels, even if such a child gets a high paying job in the future but the job is not of their interest, they won't be able to live a fulfilling life. They would always have a remorse that they can't make money out of their interest, instead they have to work on something they don't like at all. This may even lead to a rise of grudge in their heart against their School Board in the future. The School Board needs evidence that each and every child in rhe School is really willing to do the four years programming course and also that they want a high paying programming job in the end.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions such as the children would love these courses and want a career in programming. These extra evidence are required to fully evaluate the claims made by the School Board before they make these four years of programming mandatory for all the high school students. These evidences would make sure that the students really enjoy what they are doing and the shape these courses are going to give to their future.