The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, he is arguing for greater emphasis on advertising the movies for better reach to the public. He has based his argument on the past few years experience of the production company as it is strugling to gather a higher amount of audience for their movies. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, these questions must be answered.

First of all, the argument lacks any actual data as nothing is quantified. No data is provided regarding the actual decrease in the audience numbers. It is follows blindly the report given by the marketing department. Maybe, the decrease in audience number is very low and there is no need to worry about it as the production company may be expermenting with new genre. The production company may be focusing on some new types of movies that it has not made earlier. This could lead to the public being somewhat skeptical about going to the theaters as they don't know what to expect out of the movie right now. But, since the postive reviews by reviewers are going up (as stated in the argument), the move looks to be a good one in the longer run. Maybe it could not lead to results earlier but the move may be good enough to bring higher revenues in the near future as more people will come to witness new genres and new kind of movies.

Further, the problem could be with the quality of movies beinf produced itself. People nowadays are smart and equipped with easy access to internet and can read the review of any movie and get to know if it is worthy to be watched or not within seconds. So, the claim that people lack awarness reagrding good movies seems vague. There are many interent services like IMDB, Rotten Tomatoes who review all the movies all over the globe and is available for free. So, to put up the problem in the name public's lack of awareness and not doing introspection regarding the quality of movie being made seems absurd.

Moreover, are the movie watching conditions of the past year and present even roughly comparable? Time changes anything in a blink of an eye. Before the corona pandemic broke out, anyone could go out at any time but now governments put up lockdown in many parts to stop the spread of the virus. Maybe, less audience was just beacause of the pandemic scare and now since things are getting better and people are moving out freely, the prouction company may soon see a surge in the audience coming to see thier highly rated movies.

Also, the report may hint towards a bit of corruption in the company as it is making the company allocate higher budget to advertisement even though they know that they are making highly rated movies which will eventually make people come to their theaters. Maybe the marketing department head is friends with advertising department head and wants to help him and himself financially by making absurd and vague claims which are not backed by any strong data or number. Corruption has been root of many changes in companies and this case may be another such example.

In conlusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions stated above. If the author is able to provide proper answers to the questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate if the argument holds water or not. The answers would lead us to conclude if there is a need to allocate greater share of budget next year to advertisement ot not.