The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following arguments from the sides of both Namen and Roscoe are flawed for numerous reasons. Executives of both the companies have made several unwarranted assumptions leading to their vague beliefs.

Primarily, the dynamics of the cities of Winston and Salem suburb could be totally different. As it is evident from the argument, Winston has a large base of customers who like to buy both high end as well as affordable clothes making both Namen and Roscoe large and successful stores. Whereas Salem suburbs are actually just in the growing phase. The data given for Salem suburb is only for the last three years. The surge in the population and the median income could be because of some economic boom which could end at any given time period. Maybe, it was due to some new industrial establishment causing the economic boom to occur but all of it has settled now and there is a less probability of furthrer improvement. Basically, we shouldn't rely upon any vague data to predict the future.

Namen's executives argue that since the population as well as the median income has increased, the people would be willing to spend more on clothing. Namen produces high-end designer clothes which are not affordable for all. Namen cannot predict the mood as well the status and riches of the population. Also, it is a suburb which will make it more difficult for Namen to get new customers who are willing to pay more for clothing.

Roscoe's executives believe that suburbs are more family oriented which would lead to more profit for them. They have forgot the basic of business- it doesn't work on mere belief. Business works on data. We don't have any population data revieling if the suburb has more bachelors or families. We cant't rely upon vague beliefs and predict profitability.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that opening a new store in the Salem suburb could be profitable for Namen or Roscoe.