A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt presented here advocates for a common national curriculum for all the students of the nation till they enter college. Maybe, doing this will make the job of planning committee that decides curriculum far easier and standardized for all the students. But, I would like to disagree with the suggestion given.

Every child is unique in his or her own way and must try to celebrate and enhance the diversity of skills and interests that an individual child posseses. It is really important for a government to focus on all round development of the country. Children are the future of the nation. So, any government would like to have a proper mix of children having specialized skills- some must be good at studies (government would want them to lead the country in the scientific field in the near future); some must be good at sports (government would want Olympic medals out of them); some must be good at different skills (like arts and crafts, philosophy, etc). So, by making a rigid national curiculum, the government would kill all of theses chances. There would be less probability of a child following his passion because he would be trapped in the standardized national curriculum. This curriculum would be a perfect scenario where the government thought about 'good for all' but couldn't achieve 'good for a particular child'. Rather, the leverage should be given to a particular child to shape his future in the exact field that he is interested in.

Secondly, the government should not impose it's own will on a child's future. For example, what if Michael Phelps was told in his childhood that you must follow this routine provided by govenrment which includes exact studying hours, exact play hours and all. Maybe he would not have been able to become the greatest Olympian ever. And what if Albert Einstein was told to play a standard sports every evening according to the new national curiculum? Maybe, he would have become good for nothing as he could not do the things that he really liked. Instead he was made to do things that was considered by the government as good for him. So, rather than imposing things on children, they must be given the freedom to choose what they like and must be promoted to make a career in that particular field.

Moreover, if a child is allowed to pursue his or her choice from the very beginning, it is more likely that he starts to build better skills from a small age and when he enters the competetive age, he is better than others because he was the one who started earlier and had more time to work on his skills. Today, we see gymnasts win medals at olympics and when we look at their interviews we can easily comprehend a common thing out of all of them- they started really early like at the age of three to five. So, children must be allowed to do what they want rather then making common national curiculum for them and throwing it up on their shoulders.

Some may argue that a single national curiculum is good for the whole as it leads to less discrimination and takes the society as a whole. But at first place, there must be no discrimination in the field of children's future or education. They must be given the freedom to do what they like irrespective of what the government thinks is good for them. One thing that is good for a smart kid need not be equally good for a sporty kid. There is no place for standardization in this field.