The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dean of The University of Wabash wants all undergraduate and garduate students to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service for a toatl of 9 months hoping to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The argument is flawed for numerous reasons as it relies on various stated and unstated assumptions which make it weak.

The Dean believes in producing charitable members of society by pressurizing all the undergraduate and graduate student to undergo compulsory community service. The feeling to do good for community won't reciprocate if it is thrown as something compulsory on all the students. Rather, it comes by instinct. Additionally, this compulsory program can even make students ridicule community service because it is something imposed on them. It's not whimsical. Undergraduate and garduate students have to devote a lot of their time in studies. So, they are left over with very less leisure time. And now the University wants a part out of their already less free time. This can lead to a disregard to the community work in some students. They will do this out of compulsion and not because they like to do it. Some students can get to such an extent where they actually start disliking community service and won't do any community service once they graduate. Also, 8 hours work for 9 months results in 72 hour of total work which is 3 days in total. This is a lot of time for someone who is already under much academic pressure.

The argument also make an unwarranted assumption that each and every student will get guarranted 8 hours of community service every month in an approved local charity. What if someone is not able to get 8 hours of work in a local charity and has to travel a long way out of the district to complete his quota of 8 hour work. In such case, the travelling hours should also be counted. Furthermore, the University should provide with the additional travelling expenses. The students are already paying a lot to the University and the expense is handled mostly by their parents. By making community service a compulsion on the students, the University is actually increasing the monetary burden on the students' parents. The University should rather introduce some free humanity courses and focus on making students that are economically, physically and emotionally able to do community serivce once they graduate.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The University should reconsider imposing such compulsory task.