Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement made discards the importance of understanding of past for the current leaders. This is a claim which sounds too extreme. Good leaders won't do mistakes to learn from them; rather they would look up in the past and see for a similar incident and learn from them.

Firstly, history is a very important subject to study for someone who aspires to be a good leader. History tells us stories about the past. A good leader must comprehend some learnings out of these stories and use them for her benefit. For example, Hitler did the mistake of attacking Russia during the winter which led to his downfall during World War II as Russian soldiers are more accustomed to the winter than German soldiers who were not able to bear the chill cold weather. Many years earlier, Napolean Bonaparte had done the same mistake of trying to conquer Russia during winter which had led to a brutal loss. Had Hitler understood the past and learned from it, he won't have made such similar mistake. History is not merely old stories; these are stories that tells us some important things out of which we can comprehend many important life lessons.

Thus the past allows the current leaders to learn from mistakes rather than do them and then learn from them. They provide a roadmap- if you do something X, there's a higher chance of success and if you do something Y, it may lead to your downfall. The past need not be of the leaders' same political party or group. They can learn from others' mistakes as well. This is the beauty of understanding our past- we can learn a lot without doing something ourselves.

One may argue against the understanding of past and tell that it is of no importance anymore as we have totally different worldwide scenario right now as compared to some decades ago. For example, we have modern society now so a young new leader might argue that she don't need to look back at the past and learn all about the President of United States, how it was unified and all about its glorious past. But, if she don't studies anything about the past she won't have any pride of the country. She won't even understand how Abraham Lincoln led to unification of the different States. This is not only about the unification of States- this tells us more about the leadership qualities like leading from the front, able to give his all for the betterment of the country.

This is an extreme claim to make and diminish the importance of understanding of past. The knowledge of past is really important for anyone who aspires to be a good leader. History not only tells us about our past but it teaches us to have pride in our country's past, it tells us stories of couage and valor-which will lead someone to become a better leader.