The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The television station's manager is assuming that they lost their late night viwers for reducing weather and local news, and if they increase news on local and weather affairs, they will get back their vieweres. In order to come to this conclusion, the manager presented that they are getting complaints about decreasing local and weather news and advertiseres will come back if they increase those topics in the news as this will increase their viwers. However, the manager's claim cannot be validated as it is based upon three unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the manager is assuming that the people complained are represtative enough to assume about all the viwers lost in the past year. Which doesn't necessarily has to be. Perhaps these people are eager to watch the local or weather news, thus complained, but most other lost viewers are lost for other reasons. They may found interest in new activities. Or may be there is one or more new clubs have been built in the area which is attracting people rather than TV. If any of this happens, then the author's assumpation weakens severely. The manager may need to collect data from a significant proportion of the previous viweres in order to answer this question.

Second of all, the manager is assuming that the advertisers are not coming to their stations, because they lost some viwers. There may be other causes. It is possible that companies are now moving to internet based advertisements. Or perhaps the companies used to advertise on this chanel moved their buisiness away. If something like it happens, the manager's expectation to increase their revenew from advertisement is seriously in question.

The manager also presumes that the last year's situation is still extant. The demography or the intersts of the people of that area has to be similar to that of the last year's. But there is no evidence for that. There could be a rapid migration of people to other places for the closing of some buisiness or educational institutes. It's also possible that NETFLIX, Amazon Prime and other OTT took the viwers away from TV. So at this point, people may not want to watch TV anymore. If that happens, authors claim is flawed and seriously damages his conclusions.

As we can see, there are some unwarranted assumptions made by the author which is severely questioning the conclusion of the manager. He needs more information to prove his assumptions are true and he can get back the revenue by increasing local and weather news. So, only if the manager becomes able to answer the questions with evidential data, then his claims can be valdated.