It is more important to keep your old friends

Some people may argue that making new friends is more important. But in my opinion, keeping old friends is more important. I think in this way because of three reasons.

First of all, old friends understand us better. They know about our past, so they can understand what is the motive of a seemingly weird behaviour of us. On the other hand, new friends may care for us, but they would feel lost when we are behaving in a way that is not usual to them. It takes time to understand a person. To understand a new friend, in most cases, you would have to be an old friend before you start to understand the friend properly. Otherwise it would be hard for someone to spend all of his time with new friends. When he feels down, he would have nowhere to go.

Second of all, one is comfortable around a person who knows one's past. If someone has financial problem, it would be inconsiderate to offer him to go to a fancy resturant. But someone has to spend a lot of time with another person to know whether this person has financial and persronal problems or not. For this reason, we are comfortable around people who know our past, family background, and financial difficulties, etc. Without these persons around, we may start to feel uncomfortable when offered to go somewhere, do something or meet someone.

The third reason I give more importance on keeping old friends is we may feel pathetic when we keep loosing old friends. If someone suddenly realises that he doesn't have contact with his high school best friend begining from the college, he might feel the friend was with him because one of them needed another. It may feel like it was a need based friendship, not love based. It may lead someone to overthinking and feel bad about oneself. This also may lead to stress and depression. So keeping old friends is more important for mental health too.

It is undeniable that making new friends in new environments is also important, but not with the expense of old friends. With all the above discussions, it is clear that we have to give more importance on keeping old friends rather than making new ones.