An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Vitamin A is one of the most vital nutrients. Deficiency of vitamin A causes millions of child blindness, night blindness, and many other diseases. So, governments' one of the most important job in the health sector is to find a solution to vitamin A deficiency. Fortification of staple food is always preffered in nutrition science. So, this fortification program can produce the best result we can expect to fight vitamin A deficiency in Tagus.

The common method of reducing vitamin A deficiency in the population is to give a vitamin A capsule to every under-5 children every six months. But a lot of parents and children are reluctant about taking this supplementation. So, a large number of children cannot receive vitamin A capsule regularly. And these programs does not target people older than five years. So, older people also develop vitamin A deficiency. Scientists never considered giving vitamin A capsules to older people. So only other option so far is to fortify their regular food items. And millet is the food that is consumed by most of the people of Tagus every day. So, when vitamin A is present in millet, it would reduce vitamin A deficiency in substantial portion.

Most of the countries developed a law to fortify salt with iodine. It almost eradicated iodine deficiency from the face of the earth. Because no one can eat a meal without salt. So, when consuming salt ensures iodine consumption, it eradicates iodine defiiency. In the same way, when people of Tagus have enough vitamin A in millet, the food they eat every day, would obviously reduce this vitamin's deficiency.

As the government is ready to subsidy and popularize this fortified millet, it wouldn't be a problem to spred this special millet to among the dining tables of general population. These kind of invention usually fails, when it is costly and no one is ready subsidy. But in Tagus, the government want to subsidy. And if local agricultural offices make it easy to collect seeds of this new type of millet, farmars would start to grow it and it would be available at the local markets. As it is subsidized, the price would not increase, and as a lot of farmers are producing it, people would purchase this millet.

Though it can taste differenctly, in that case, if people do not like the taste, government may have to make a law to make the farmers grow it and subsidy more to reduce the price lower than the normal millet.

With all these considerations, I think, government is going to be successful to reduce vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus by promoting vitamin A rich millet.