To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The job of the public officials is to serve people. In the modern democracy, public officials are considered as the servants of the people of a society. I strongly agree with the prompt, as to serve for public, one must have good motives, which would come from his or her ethical and moral grounds. A public official has to maintain high ethical and moral standards, in order to become an effective leader and perform own duties. I think in this way because of two reasons.

As mentioned earlier, public officials are the servant of the 'public'. This person is responsible for ensuring the well-being of all kinds of people of the society. To make the society a safe and sound place, a public official has to maintain impartiality throughout his serving period. Let's think about a mayor who has venality. This official may try to give a construction work to a company which is not compatible to do the work perfectly, but giving the mayor some money. If this is a bridge, the bridge may end up being risky to use within few years. So, this would interfere with the safety of its people. The person failing to give security to the people cannot be considered as an effective leader.

The other reason I agree with the prompt is, to be an effective leader, one must sustain own leadership. If a leader comes to the society, do some great works, become famous, and then do something that discontents the people of the society in a way that finishes his career, he cannot be an effective leader. If we remamber Aung San Su Chi, the Mayanmar leader who won nobel peace prize for her outstanding leadership to stand against the military rule. But later in a time, when she became the prime minister, she remained silent and somehow supported a mass killing of Rohingya People by Mayanmar Army, which caused displacement of 700,000 people to Bangladesh, the adjacent country to Arakan, where Rohingya people lived for hundrades of years. This lead to the fall of the popularity of Su Chi to the international and domestic progressive commuinities. Which ultimately caused her to loose the power to the military again in a few years. This shows us that if a once considered great leader looses the ethical ground in one instance, that might cause the end of her leadership as an effective leader.

But some might argue that there comes some instances where a great leader has to compromise to obtain a good thing. But we have to remamber, the leader is doing this in order to ensure a 'greater good'. This is also also coming from an high ethical ground to make peoples lives better, which is the job of a great leader.

By ensuring the well-being of people and sustaining the leadership with choosing the right path on almost every instance, one may become an effective leader. With considering these, we can say that an effective leader would always maintain a high moral and ethical ground.