A nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum before college

High school education is designed to prepare children for life which includes career and social life. The prompt is suggesting that a nation should require all of its students to study same syllebus until they enter college. I strongly disagree with the idea. A nation should give its students a chance to choose what they want to study before at high school. I think in this way because of three reasons.

The first reason is that, high school curriculam contains a pretty diverse syllebus. Students learn calculus, organic chemistry, vectors, basics of modern finance theories, foreign languages etc. If they are required to study all of these, it wouldn't be possible to finish everything in twelve years period. And if some subjects are eliminated, then students going to that particular subject in college would suffer. Suppose, a student majoring in finance had not learned finance, but this student knows organic chemistry and Spanish, which is not required in the study of fincance, he or she will be severly unprepared for college, which will result the college education either hard or lengthy and costly. If a nation can manage students to learn everything they need to get prepared for college, only then they can decide to take the suggestion of the prompt. But as we can clearly see, it's highly unpractical.

Secondly, students would get tired studying details of the subjects they are not interested in. It would greatly affect their learning ability. If a student is required to learn hard theories of Economics, but he is devoted to science, it may make him exauhsted. An small idea of every subject would be needed to sustain in the work life, which is taught in the junior high school, but at least in the senior high, they are ought to choose what they want to study in the future or what they like. Modern society doesn't need a lot of polymaths, it needs happy students prepared for the future.

Last reason I disagree with that is, it would need more time and money to ensure students to learn all the pre requisite subject for college. This may greatly affect the economy of developing countries as it would reqire more budget for education sectors and students would join workforce at an elder age than today. So it would not be practical to make such decision.

Some people may still argue with the idea that students sometimes may want to change the subject later. But the problem with that is, for some students, we cannot make a burden to all students. Current education system is allowing students to change their concentration after high school.

So, with all the discussion, we can clearly see that national curriculam is needed to devided at high school, before college. So, all students of a nation should not require studying same curriculam till college.