The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The petitioners of Centerville are demanding that texting on the sidewalk should be banned to decrease 'sidewalk rage'. They are claiming that it helped Middletown to decrease such incidents and also it is making children vulnerable on the sidewalks. But they are failing to make a solid case by making some unwarranted assumptions. So, the petitioners of Centerville have failed to make a compelling case to ban texting on the sidewalk by making three faulty assumptions.

First assumption that is not verified is that the sidewalk rage is the result of cellphone use. Was the people engaging in the bad behaviour or anger using cellphones? We don't see any information about that on the petition. It is possible that a large portion of the population of Centerville are generally frustrated and angry. They are pickish without any reason. It may be the case that the sidewalks are full of food carts that are inhibiting the pedstrian speed. This also causing people to fight with the owners of the cart and property destruction. We don't know that as the petitioners didn't present data. If any of these reason are true, then the argument is in question of being invalid. To strengthen the argument, people need to present data.

Secondly, people who submitted the petition are thinking that what solved the sidewalk rage problem in Middletown will be able to the problems of Centerville. But are the two towns same? Are people's behaviour is comparable among these two cities? They haven't presented data on what kind of incidents used to happen in the sidewalks of Middletown. So to ask for a ban on sidewalk texting, people need to present data about the cases and behaviours of the two cities and how are they similar. Othewise, the argument remains unproved.

They are also assuming that children are vulnerable to the people texting on the sidewalks. They are claiming that children are hard to be seen by pedstrian adults. What if children are more noticable to the people texting on the sidewalks, as cellphone user are slightly looking at a lower angle. Petitioners have to evaluate this possibilty before claiming that kids are at risk by the people that are chatting using their phones on the sidewalk.

If these assumptions are not corrected with good arguments and presented some really strong data supporting their argument, the petition cannot be verified. So to strengthen the argument, the people of Centerville need to clear their unwarranted assumptions with clear evidence.