To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The charactersitics of a sciety greatly depends on the charctaristics of its people's lives and the economic condition throughout the society. The prompt suggests that, in order to study a society, one has to study the major cities. I strongly agree with the prompt. In order to study most important characteristics of a society, one must study the metropoliton areas of the society. I agree this because of two reasons.

The first reason is that, the demography of a mojor city is way more diverse than any other place of that society. Almost all kinds of people, cultures, and economic classes are present there. If a researcher goes to a city, he would find people who are starving in scarce of food, and also find a person who is spending money in a pretty expensive cup of latte. If the researcher goes to a government office, he may meet a farmer who came to get a service along with the government offiials. There would be a big public hospital where rural poor people are coming to get treatment for the complex illness, also there will be expensive hospitals and clinics where the most rich people go for silly things. A city consists areas where people live a sumptuous living, also consists area where people are struggling to fit in the city. So, if someone studies a city, he or she is practically studying most demographies

As we can see, city are the most commonplace where different people from different socioeconomic backgrounds meet, it would also reveal how the different demographic people treat one another and how they communicate. This will also reveal, how the well being of the people are maintained in a society, by minimizing the class difference. If the person studying the city goes to a bar, he would be able to observe the behaviour of a rich bank accountholder with the janitor of the bank. Students of a public school may differ from a private school in different ways. How teachers are treating students, and how the students are behaving with the security guard or the janitor of the school. So, if someone doesn't study a big city, he would miss the most important interactions that characterizes the society and its people.

Though there are a lot of important things that are not present in the city that should be studied, the researcher may have to visit other places like farmlands, rural areas, and indigenous people of the society. There is no harm visiting those places. But, as the prompt says, one must studty the cities, otherwise miss the important things that are discussed in the previous paragraphs.

With all things considering, if someone doesn't study major cities of a society, he or she cannot understand the most important charasteristics of the society.