The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern democratic society is sustained with the notion that the people of a society are the main source of power. All the decisions made for a society has to be directly or indirectly made by the majority of its people. So, questioning the authority is on of the most important characteristics required for well-being of a society.

People most care about themselves and their close ones. Authority's main job is to ensure well-being of that society. So when they take a decision, they might think about their own prosper, which, not necessarily would be the prospect of the society. People are the majority of the society. When they are concerned about their well-being and raise their voices, they would enhance their well-being.

Authority has power, so they have the chance to do things that are beneficial for themselves only. When they use their power with their will, they can harm the society. If there is a situation where the authority have to answer to the people of the society, it might help to ensure reserving peoples' right. Whenever the rights are violated, people would question and make the authority to change their decision.

If there is a situation where the authority has no one to answer, a good authority can get corrupted. At a point, members of the authority would not be able to recognize what is wrong and what is right. They have the power to do many things. They can make money, rig an election, and corrupt the judiciary, etc. If its people stops questioning the authority, they may get fooled by the power and start making wrong decisions.

There are some situation, where, if most of the people are questioning the authority, might not necessarily be the situation that the authority is wrong. People of the society of a particular region may be politically involved with an opposition party. So they may oppose everything of an authority. And a decision may not be beneficial to all the people of the country, but may be beneficial to some people and that is the right decision in question of human rights. In that case, questioning the authority could violate human rights.

So it is necessary to exist a situation where people question the authority.