An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Vitamins and minerals play an imperative role in the earth system. They similarly, also play a role in the human body. Humans need vitamins and minerals to live a healthy life. For instance, vitamin A is known to be a popular source for people with eye sight problems. Minerals such as iron, magnesium among others also play a salient part in everyday life. Today, people consume these minerals, acids, fats and vitamins in form of tablets and syrups and powders. However, not every person on planet earth can afford owing to several economic and geopolitical conditions. Therefore, genetic engineering of grains has been a popular field of study in science. Since the 1960s, a new trend of breeding plants together to produce newer varieties of rice, wheat and several grains has been observed. This prompt above suggests a similar solution to the problem of vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. This new millet, developed by international development organization is being promoted as a viable option for the impoverished people of Tagus. The prompt further, believes that since millet is a staple food in Tagus, it will be adopted without much hesitation by the public. However, in doing so the prompt ignores several factors that needs to be considered.

To begin, environmental conditions of each country on our planet differs. For instance, India has Himalayans in the north; desert in the west and ocean in the south. Such disparate geographical locations lead to different climate, winds, and soil patterns. Therefore, not every plant can be grown everywhere. For example, cocoa can only be grown in the southern hills of Kerala in India whereas, mangroves can only be found in the Sundarbans delta and not all over India. Hence, it is significant for the international development organization to consider the geographical factors before introducing the millet in the Tagus market. Suppose, the millet does not grow appropriately as expected or some unforeseen confounding factor arises; this will not only lead to waste of time but also monetary funds and trust of people.

Second, before introducing the millet in the market it is important to ease the general public of the Tagus into the idea of a new breed of millet. One cannot discard the possibility of people rejecting the millet, especially those of religious and conservative attitude. Moreover, this will cause farmers also to abandon the new millet as it will not yield productive results.

The international development organization should also keep in mind the adaptability of the millet. For example, if the millet does not suit the body of the population of Tagus. It has been found that many people are unable to digest millets such as wheat properly and this leads to upsetting of their stomach. Therefore, a pilot study will need to be conducted on the people of Tagus.

These are sum of the things that need to be looked into, before introducing the millet in the market.