Community

"Humans are social animals." This age old proverb irrespective of era holds true for human beings. We formed colonies, societies and heirarchies to survive and eventually to work together. The prompt above suggests two opposing views for community works. The former suggests that local community work should depend on citizen volunteers and the latter suggests that skilled professionals and leaders should be hired for community work. I partially agree with the first stance that communities should depend on citizens for projects because these works are in favour of citizens themselves.

To begin, working together on projects promotes community building and atmosphere of warmth conducive for forming bonds. Moreover, when citizens volunteer to work together it lessens the burden on government and in return reduces the taxes of citizens. For instance, when citizens come together to work stereotypes and prejudices reduce as people interact more with each other. Psychological researches show that when contact with outgroup increases, the boundaries of ingroup and outgroup start diminishing. Further, such ventures saves governmental resources as the citizens are more cognizant about needs and problems present in the local community which need to be adressed. This saves both time and money which would have been spent on hiring a professional community.

It is also significant to understand that such ventures allow students and young children of communities to volunteer for community serivces allowing them to build their character and personality. As interactions with people increase, young minds are more exposed to variety of perceptions and thinking processes and such ventures can allow them to form their own opinions. Social interactions can act as the starting point for peer friendships. For instance, many American shows portray community meetings and projects as the meeting point for adults and children alike for social engagement.

Although, it is also true that hiring of professionals can be a necessity as not everyone is going to have time and resources to take part in community volunteering and the work produced by volunteers might not be upto the mark. However, the solution for this is not difficult. Local communities can form different departments where citizens volunteer for work they find suitable and can manage to take out time for. Moreover, hiring someone new for such activities is also a waste of time and money as the new person will first have to equip himself with the workings of the area and its citizens before implementing strategies. It is also important to keep in mind that such strategies might not be welcomed by citizens, which in turn decimate the need for a professional in the first place.