Options and Decisions

Human life is rife with decision-making actions. The developed intellectual thinking and capacity explains why humans encounter the quandary of making decisions. Moreover, increasing life experiences and expanding options present us with augmenting decision-making thinking. For instance, when a family goes out to dine in malls, they are presented with numerous food retail options. Moreover, this is not limited to the food domain; cars, homes, the field of study, and even trite things such as a ruffle today presents humans with so many options. This huge presence of options today comes with its pros and cons. I partially agree with the prompt and argue mostly in favour of the prompt for few reasons.

To begin, more options available today in the market scenario presents buyers with a plethora of options to choose from. These increased options cause people to spend more time thinking and pondering over options before settling on one. For example, today Indian market has options available for many cars. Therefore, when a person goes to the showroom to buy one, he is posited with the problem of deciding which car is best suited for him. Further, this availability causes confusion and delay in making decisions as there's always a model better available.

Moreover, this confusion leads one to ponder over the decision endlessly leading to wasting of time. However, if limited options were available then the individual might not spend a significant amount of his time on deciding one option. This is not to say that when fewer options are available people do not think about their decisions; the decision-making process is still prevalent however, lesser time is consumed when the fewer options situation is compared to unrelenting options. Therefore, it is imperative to note that less availability of options does not equate to limiting of cognitive thinking capacities of human beings. Humans in such a situation will spend the appropriate time to think over several parameters of those selected options to derive a decision. This prevents just ponderance and propels the act of making the final decision. Thus, a thorough decision will be made.

When options are far more, avaricious behaviour may arise. The quest to gather more and more does not stop and humans fall into the labyrinth of greed. This gives birth to consumerism. Therefore, lesser choices will help to avoid growing acquisitiveness in the human population.

However, one may argue that lower options lead to the development of ignorance and limits human exploration significantly. As a result, human executive functions take a fall. While this is true but needs to understand that even in limited choices, one has to spend a good amount of time to understand and explore the given options. Therefore, instead of limiting frontal lobe functions; a humble alternative will allow one to think more deeply about the advantages and disadvantages of given options. And this will promote better decisions and lower buyer's remorse among the population.