Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

As a young adolescent leaves the warmth of school life and enters college; he is overthrown by the question of choosing field of study. This is both an important as well as a tricky question because it defines the next twenty-thirty years of a student’s life. Students navigate this challenging question all the while adjusting to new unknown college life. This can prove to be pressurizing and the student may end up choosing wrong career path. Therefore, deciding career path requires judging of several parameters. The prompt suggests two opposing views when it comes to selecting college major. The former view point suggests deciding field of study based on talents and interests whereas, the latter posits selection based on job availability.

Although choosing the major on the basis on job availability can prove to be beneficial to both students and society in short term; its long term consequences are not so fertile. For instance, job market is always working according to trends and thus, changing trends can prove to be malignant. In the late 20th century engineering was the most sought after job in Indian market; however by the 2010s Indian diaspora moved towards MBA as the most sought job. Therefore, job trends are dynamic and selecting career on the basis on availability of jobs can be perilous. Moreover, selection of major on the basis of job availability can lead to lower unemployment in the long run, saturation of one field and lower entrepreneurship. Hence, I partially disagree that students choose jobs solely on the basis of job availability for 2 reasons.

To begin, when a student opts for a field based on his skills and interests; he is bound to be more productive and motivated to succeed in that field. In the early 1900s an economist major, Gordon Allport changed his major to psychology; where he came up with the concept of personality as a scientific field in psychology. This example, allows one to understand the role interest plays in career path and exploration. Similarly, the global boyband BTS are able to prove their mettle and passion by selecting a field that showcases their talents and interests. In doing so they are able to not only generate thousands of jobs but also inspire millions of young adults.