Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

The college student’s life or the university life is often quoted to be the most important one in a humans life. While it is often redolent of friends, parties and memories; life as a university/college student often comprises of classes, modules and assignments. As the young teenager enters the world of unknown challenges start rising right from the day one. In this mix of opaqueness, adjustment and classes; students are expected to perform their best to stay afloat in the increasing assignments and commitments. These four-six years of college life transforms students from awkward teenagers to refined adults ready to enter worklife. However, in arduous this journey of transformation, a major role is that of assignments. Interestingly, the role of assignments is often ignored. The above stated prompt suggests the importance of group assignments in place of traditional lecture-based instruction can promote more experience gaining among the students. I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue this for few reasons.

To begin, group assignments aid in promoting collaboration among the otherwise introvert peers. It also proves beneficial to extroverts to branch out. Collaboration among students promotes creativity, responsibility and develops friendships that last a life time. Secondly, promulgating collaboration among peers help in personality development. Researches have proven that personality development continues till 22 years of age in the adult life. Therefore, fostering good friendly collaborating atmosphere can prove to be beneficial for the student’s enhancement as a person. Collaboration will also expose students to challenges and thus, create an environment buzzing with creativity and problem solving thinking. When students will encounter real life challenges during the collaboration, there will surely be brain storming sessions for overcoming the hindrance. Moreover, when students are motivated to collaborate instead of attending lectures; the culture of spoon-feeding will end. For instance, many students are simply unprepared for the University life as they are under the false notion that university life like that of school will be that of spoon-feeding. This poses serious challenges to student’s navigation of university life. Further, such collaboration will foster more involvement from otherwise inactive students in traditional lecture based classes. For instance, in the wake of pandemic when every possible entity moved to online mode of working; universities and colleges were no different. In these trying times, it became evidently clear how traditional classes on the online medium proved to be a road block in learning. Students especially became inactive in classes because of online obscurity. Therefore, assignments can prove to be a specially boon in such inactive class scenarios. As this will help students become more focussed and take active participation in discussions due to their own experiences with the topics.

Therefore, if implemented correctly the claim can have far more benefits than disadvantages.