Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

There’s a famous quote which promulgates students as the future of tomorrow and nation. Indeed, students are future professors, researchers, entrepreneurs, artists and leaders. And this journey from a student to a successful working professional requires skills, time, patience and competencies. The prompt above propels that every student must be required to take variety of courses which lie beyond the domain of their major. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students should take courses outside of their intended major fields for reasons stated below.

To begin, often in career life people change their line of work or gain interest in some other field. This change of direction can be aided by the courses taken during the university duration. This is so because the future career professional will know his/her interests and disinterests and thus, not feel lost with sudden career change. For instance, during my undergraduate years I took an additional course of environmental science which apprised me about the severe impact of global warming and take part in several cleaning campaigns.

Moreover, such courses often add to personal growth and personality development. For instance, a behavioural psychology course offered by my undergraduate university helped my friends to understand human functioning and several factors associated with it. This allowed them to improve their communication and better emotional intelligence competencies. Such courses help students get out of their shell and develop confidence needed for professional growth.

Further, taking courses outside the major allows space for professional growth both in present and future. It helps in forming connections and social networks which are useful for growth in career. Moreover, the skills and competencies learned during the course prepares students for ever evolving job market. For example, today’s marketing domain focuses on social media where as 10 years back marketing would be more television centric. Therefore, courses allow for acclimatizing to changing social world.

Courses taken outside the university classes further aid in expanding knowledge and increase creative thinking among the blooming minds. For instance, freedom to choose courses will allow students to explore their interests without pressure of examinations. This freedom will succor students in forming, maintaining and proliferating their identity.

Most importantly, these courses can be both study oriented or skills oriented. Such format will advance human race and student’s perceptions about the world. Therefore, Universities must require their students to broaden their horizon and take courses outside of their field of study.