Leadership

The world is often divided between leaders and followers; the tradition has been prevalent since the inchoate stages of democracy in ancient Greece. Leaders are ubiquitous irrepsective of the field. They define roles, goals and visions. Therefore, understanding the importance of leader is significant. This importance can be gauged from the amount of studies conducted by the psychologists on understanding the construct in detail. Leaders are hence, an internal part of any organization. A leader who understands the nuances and shades of an organization are undoubtedly an asset, because of their understandings of the workings and mechanisms of an institution. Therefore, one who has better understanding of the organization is more adept at leading it. And the best candidate for such role according to the prompt is internal candidates deemed to be qualified. I partially disagree with this reason for 2 reasons.

To begin, understanding of a thing does not equate to critical thinking and analytical skills. The reason given for the claim, fails to consider the point that analytical and critical thinking skills are much more important for success of an organization. For instance, a child may understand a concept taught in class and therefore, might be able to produce the text in examination. However, it is imperative to remember that if an application based question is asked in exam; there is a possibility that child might not be able to apply the concept learned. Similarly, being cognizant of organizations does not guarantee effectives.

Moreover, there are several qualities of a leader that have to be examined before deciding on an individual. A novice candidate might also be a great option considering he understands how the different parameters and aspects of market, company and policies play out. Therefore, a quality of being prescient is non-negotiable in selecting a right choice.

Further, a candidate from outside the organization will bring in his own experiences and competencies. For example, due to working in same environment for the same time; the company candidate might not be able to think of a problematic circumstance in new light. Whereas, an external candidate due to his personal and professional experiences will broaden the horizon of thinking and therefore, be more effective.

Although some might argue that looking for a candidate outside the institution will lead to profligacy of resources such as time and money. But in doing so, they forget that selecting a candidate from inside the organization will also require resources and if there are no options upto the mark, it will lead to wasting of resources twice. Moreover, learning the complexities of an organization does not require as much time as one assumes. For example, recently the recent President hire of Medley Pharma is an external candidate and has increased the sales by 10% in the few months time.

Therefore, an organization should take the decision of hiring an effective leaders according to skills, determination and foresight thinking for success rather than basing the decision just on familiarity.