Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

It is believed that college life is one of most memorable part of one’s life. The opportunities encountered during college time shape personality and values to a great extent. It is period of exploration, and development. However, another significant aspect of student life is assignments, classes and modules to study. This imperative part of college helps form opinions, knowledge base and prepares for future employment prospects. An interesting twist to this journey over the past few years has been addition of abroad programs. Such interventions allow students to study while living in a foreign country, opening doors for several fortuitous prospects. The prompt therefore, suggests that all universities and colleges should mandate their students to at least one semester abroad.

To begin, students studying abroad will be exposed to different culture, language and societal working. Thus, allowing students to broaden their horizons by opening their minds of assimilation of a disparate society. Moreover, navigate a new surrounding to develop personally and professionally. Such programs will hence, aid in personality development of students as they explore and understand novel concepts. For instance, a student living in monolithic society when enters a different one will gain cognizance of other perspectives, thus, breaking his tunnel vision. A direct result will be broadening of perspectives, development of open mindedness and dispelling of ignorance. Moreover, such an experience will help in promoting independent mind and personality. Students will have to think for themselves more analytically and critically.

However, there are several factors one needs to examine in order to consider these benefits. First and foremost, not every student will be able to afford such an expensive education program. For instance, in India statistics indicate that parents on an average spend more than 10 lakh rupees on their ward’s education. This figure in background of lower purchasing parity power of Indian population raises several issues with the mandate of compulsory abroad education. Furthermore, not every child is educated in India, and it is beyond the scope of government to spend at least 2 lakh rupees on every student’s foreign semester.

Another issues that raises its head is extra work that educating abroad entails such as visa acquiring process. It is both long and tedious. Hence, a student already burdened by class and assignments cannot really be expected to work hard for visa as well. It also important to realize that there can be unplanned emergencies which will hamstring the process.

Students will also face adjustment difficulties in a new unknown country which can impact their academic standing. Several personal characteristics such as upbringing, parenting styles, personality, and attitude will also play a salient role in the abroad program.

Therefore, I think a partial stance should be taken. Not every student has the similar standing and capacities in terms of finance and personal circumstances.