An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The above passage states that that a new breed of millet high in vitamin A was developed by an international development organization in response to the vitamin A deficiency amongst the people in Tagus. The new bread millet, even though is expensive, can play a major role in helping the improvised people if Tagus. Regardless of the advantages it can produce, it can also bring problem to the families because it is a staple food in Tagus.

Firstly, the new bread millet which has been developed by the organization might produce vitamin A, but it is a scientifically modified product, and it could cause side effects to the people of Tagus. The safety of the product during consumption has not been mentioned by the passage and could cause fatal diseases to the farmer such as cancer and many farmers will not have the money for such treatment.

Furthermore, the farmers were promised subsidies to buy the new bread millet. But if the people living Tagus are not willing to buy the new product and are interested only in the natural product, then all the investment in the growth of the new plant might get wasted. This will cause the farmers to not only loose crops but also their investment in the crops.

Finally, we can come to the conclusion by saying that newly generated crops might help in providing vitamin A to the improvised people in Tagus. But the scientifically modified product might produce dangerous diseases that could be fatal to the people of Tagus. If more information were provided regarding the new food product, then it would be easy to convince the people of Tagus to opt for the new product.