The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The bussiness manager decided to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The conclusion was based on the low adversiting revenues and complaints concerned with coverage of weather and local news. The conclusion is flawed in many respects.

Firstly, Is Change in program only reason for cancelling of advertising contract? The author prematurely assumes that it is because of time devoted to national news the local bussiness are cancelling their contracts. There can be external factors that would have resulted in cancelling of the contract. For instance, In this ongoing pandemic majority of the local bussiness are facing severe loss and therefore they prefer not to invest any money in advertising. The Bussiness Manager should take their feedback to find exact reason for the cancellation of contract.

Secondly, What percentage of complaints station received regarding coverage of weather? The Bussiness Manager only mention's most of the complain but fails to provide any more details. It might be possible that the total viewership for late night program has increased after covering national news, so even though the number of complaints are increased the overall percentage might have dropped. A proper statical analysis is required to check the viability of this claim.

Thirdly, What time is alloted to each category? The author only tells us about late night program and not about full day coverage. For instance, If the station is covering national news full day and even in late night then its probably boring its audiences. The manager has to find at what time its audience prefer news and accoeding alot slots to categories. For instance, Most people after work at night prefer watching national news so alot national news at night and weather and local news in the morning.

In conclusion, the conclusion is based on several unwarranted assumption. If Author provide answers to above mention question through proper research and surveys the conclusion can be examined more properly.