The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night programs have devoted increased time to national news and less time to local and weather news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from our viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise in our late-night programs have just canceled the advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further revenues, we should restore the time devoted to the weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen our argument.

The memorandum suggests that to prevent losing advertising avenues, the late-night news program should devote more time to weather and local news as compared to national news. For this the business manager claims that there have beeen viwers' complaints regarding the coverage of local news and weather and that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts due to the same reason. This arguments is, however, flawed and three pieces evidence are needed to properly assess it.

Firstly, the manager should provide evidence that suggests that devoting more time to local news and weather would increase the viewership. It is possible that the viewers are simply not interested in the show because its quality has been declining lately. Another possibility is that earlier the children would have had their vacations, and now that school has started, families prefer sleeping early rather than watching the late-night news program. Because there is no strong evidence pointing towards increased viewership on switching to more time on local news, the argument does not hold.

Further, there needs to be fairly analyzed and documented evidence to prove that all the viewers of the show equally believe that lesser time should be devoted to national news than local news and weather. If there have been complaints, what part of the region are they from? Are they concentrated close together or scattered across the region? It might be true that the only complaints registered have been done on an unfair basis, i.e. some people have been paid to do so, just so that this decision can be supported. It is also unclear 'what' the complaints exactly said. It is possible that they only suggested better quality local or weather news and not more coverage 'at the cost of' national news' time being cut short. The above-mentioned examples, thus, weaken the argument.

Lastly, a copy of the contracts with the local businessmen, that have been referred to in the memoradum, needs to be provided as an evidence. It can be the case that the contracts have simply ended after a specific time period and not been cancelled. There also needs to be more evidence about 'how' the local bussinesses used to advertise the show and to 'what extent'. Only then can a fair decision be made in their name. Simply stating that the businesses have cancelled the contract and less time needs to be given to national news, thus, does not hold water.

The argument made by the manager is, due to the above-mentioned lacking pieces of evidence heavily flawed. If proper evidence is provided to support the argument, a better decision can be made.