The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night programs have devoted increased time to national news and less time to local and weather news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from our viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise in our late-night programs have just canceled the advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further revenues, we should restore the time devoted to the weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen our argument.

The buisness manager of a television station has suggested to increase the time devoted to weather and local news in the late night program rather than showing the national news. It has been concluded because there have been many complaints from the viewers concerned with the weather and local news previous year and the sponsors have backed out from the late-night program recently. According to me, the argument by the manager is flawed due to the three assumptions made.

Firstly, the manager has assumed that the complaints were concerned with the weather and local news because they did not want to see the national news. However, the manager has crossed out the possibility of the anchor or host of the news channel being the reason for these complaints. For example, if a person dislikes a show because there is an actor performing seriously bad in it, it does not mean that the plot, story, direction and the idea of the show is bad and it needs to be stopped. If the concerned actor would be replaced with someone better, the show can come out in flying colours. Here, the show is analogous to the national news and that actor being the host of the news channel, thus replacing the host might work out well.

Secondly, the manager has assumed that the interest of people in weather and local news would be the same as it was one year ago. There might be a flood in the premises in the previous year and that would have been the reason for the concerns. This does not imply that returning to the same news after one year would interest the same audience. News channel and news topic are fragile and thus the hot topic might change depending on the events happening. If there is a war like situation, every citizen would turn to the news channel and the national news would be the hot topic. So, the evidence of what were the actual concerns about the national and weather news about an year ago, might help to evaluate the argument better.

Also, the manager made an assumption that the local businesses that used to advertise have backed out because the national news was shown in the late night program. There are many factors involved in a business advertising startegy, they invest in advertising in a certain program for a certain period of time depending on their mathematics. For instance, if a company sponsors a sports league and later that year, suffers a huge loss due to independent reason, the company would not be in a situation to sponsor anyone for that year. Also, if the company sees that it had converted all the potential consumers into their customers from that league, they might back out next year. So this cannot be used to conclude that the sports league should be shut down. Thus, the evidence of the proper reason of the business backing out from advertisisng would help in the analysis.

So, the argument stands flawed due to the three assumptions made without the evidence. If the evidence is provided through proper scientific methodology, the argument could be better analysed.