A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

A student is nurtured and made ready to pursue higher education in his/her school years. The more versatile the school curriculum, the more character development the student witnesses. The prompt suggests that all schools across a country should follow the same curriculum, or, in other words, every student before entering college (where he/she pursues a major), should be exposed to the same curriculum. I strongly agree with this statement for two reasons.

When starting college, students coming from different backgrounds have a varied range of skills and knowledge, and this might give some of them an undue advantage. For example, if some school curriculum constitutes computer programming, the students who have already been exposed to it, have worked with computers, and are comparatively at a better position than people who have no inkling about programming, have an upper hand. If, as a part of their college degree, students are required to take up a programming course, the ones who have better skills at it (as a result of programming being a part of their school curriculum) may score better grades, much to the loss of others. This demonstrates how higher education, transcripts, and thus future careers of students can be affected because some might have an unfair advantage of having more knowledge over others.

Nation-wide exams where a copius amount of students are graded based on their performance in the same examinations and admissions to colleges are based on the scores, might also prove to be partial. For instance, the Joint Engineering Entrance (JEE) examination in India which is the entrace test all the students aspiring to take admissions in engineering colleges have to take, where on an average 1 million students show up. Here, students who were taught science/ mathematics earlier or of an advanced level might again have an advantage over the ones who weren't. Admissions on the basis of the scores of this test might thus not be fair as not all students appearing for it had the same foundational knowledge. This illustrates how, due to non-uniform teaching across the country, the time a student is taught a subject or the level of complexity he is exposed to is again varied and this might not lead to an evenhanded admission system.

Although some might argue that countries where there are a plethora of languages spoken, where there are multiple cultures that are markedly different from each other in many respects, students should learn their mother tongue and be fluent in the language, this can be taken care of by the flexibility of choosing 'which' language course the school/ state wishes to opt for. The rest of the curriculum, however, consisting of subjects like mathematics, science, writing or character development, should be taught uniformly across the nation, so that anyone who has the right to education is at par with others, regardless of their their gender or relilgion or the region they are from. This would ensure all the applicants to be at the same level while applying for college owing to paralled exposure in their school years.