The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memorandum states that the television station is supposed to spend more money on weather and local news rather than national news. The argument seems to be reasonable. However, there are multiple logical flaws that are critical to the argument's logic in the line of reasoning leading to the conclusion.

The immediate question is whether viewers prefer national news rather than whether and local news. Though there are conplaints from viewers stating that the percentage of weather and local news is insufficient, there might be more viewers who love national news instead of whether and local news. The television station should make a detailed inquiry on viewers so that they could confirm which type of news are more welcomed.

Another point of doubt is that there might not be a direct relation between decreasing coverage on local news and decreasing local advertising revenues. There are multiple factors which can affect the local business manager on deciding if they need an advertisement, such as the current situation of the marketing, the operation strategy of the company, etc. The time on local news is only one of the reasons and it might not make much difference.

We should also realize that even if local businesses canceled their advertising contracts, there might be more business contracts from national businesses due to increasing program contents, which can also create revenues to the television station. The station is supposed to make a comparison on two sources of funds and decide in which way they can gain the most profits.

Lastly, increasing coverage on local news might not win local business cooperators back. They could have signed contracts with other television stations and they might not come back though the station has changed its strategy. In addition, national businesses can go away if the station decides to decrease the coverage on national news. This can lead to the decrease of revenues again for the station.

Because of the multiple unclarified issues which the author omits to answer, the proposal of expanding coverage of whether and local newsmay be unadoptable, and the desired effect that more views will be attracted and the revenue increases may not be achieved.