The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the co

In the memorandum, the author states that in order to prevent losing revenues and to attract more viewers the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level. The author has come to this conclusion based on incoming complaints regarding weather and local news coverage and the cancellation of advertising contracts during the time slot when national news is been conducted. While the conclusion drawn in the argument might ultimately prove valid, the author needs to provide three crucial pieces of evidence to bolster its validity.

First of all, specific evidence regarding the viewers complaints needs to be addressed. It is possible that viewers are not complaining about the reduced time of weather and local news but are complaining about the integrity of the news provided. Perhaps, the late night program provided news that there will be no rains in coming week but rather it rained in that week which lead to the viewers complaining about the authenticity of the news provided. It may be that local and weather news are not conveyed properly by the reporter which resulted in viewers complaining. If the above cases are true then the given argument regarding more devotion of time to weather and local news will not increase any revenue and thus the authors claim does not hold any water.

Second of all, evidence about which advertising contracts are cancelled needs to be provided. Perhaps the advertising were about a certain smart phone which was new in the market and hence was advertised heavily before and now the smart phone company has no requirement of advertising its product. It is possible that there is a certain show during the same time on another news program that has gained public attention and hence even if we devoted more time to weather and local news it will not attract more viewers since much of the viewers are not interested in watching any type of news during the time slot if the late night program and the decision to restore the time devoted to weather and local news is not pragmatic. If the above scenario seems true then the argument is not overaly persuasive.

Lastly, there can be another reason for the less revenues generated by the late night program. Perhaps the charges for advertisement during the show is a lot and there is not a myriad viewers watching news during that time. Hence local businesses are not inclined to invest in advertising. It maybe possible that if news is conducted little early during the day may lead to a increase in viewers and consequently a increase in advertisement and revenue. If the above situation is true then the authors claim that increasing time to weather and local news is flawed.

In conclusion, while the author may not be evaluating the given situation regarding the reduction in advertisement by weather and local news in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistically. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.