Competition for higher grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Grades are just one of the factors to determine a student’s understanding about the subject he/she is getting educated about. The prompt says that the increasing competition for high grades is affecting the quality of learning at all levels of education which is totally agreeable for several reasons.

To begin, the early stages of students' life begins in school and school conducts various competitions among students right from the beginning to the end. Every piece of information that an individual gain in school is being tested by several competitions. These may prove to be good for initial stages of life but as a student’s grows they get confused about what to pursue in life since their only focus was how they can be better than others and they do not focus about what really fascinates them or what field they are interested in. From the above example we can see that competitions from early stages of life backfire in later stages of life and limit the quality of learning.

Furthermore, we can observe an increasing number of college dropouts through all universities and colleges. This has happened as a result of the increasing competitiveness among college pears. If students fail to performing as good as their friends in their grades they start to question themselves "whether are they in the right field?", "can they clear their exams?" and thus results in students dropping out of the colleges. Thus the race for higher grades leads to a end in education affecting the overall quality of learning.

Similarly, the ongoing fight among food chains to gain maximum customers also leads in reducing the overall quality of food and service in the food chains as all of them have to prove themselves better than their competitor which leads in mistakes while making food and making food in hurry as they have to serve maximum customers possible. The above spirit of outperforming each other leads in affecting the quality of food in the food industry likewise seen in the case of education.

In conclusion, competition may bring good out of certain number of people but considering the consequences it has on the rest of the people it is better to avoid competitions for high grades in education and using other means to engage students and learners in educational activities.