The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The memorandum from the business manager focuses on a major argument which states that restoring the time allocated to weather and local news to its former level would both attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. This was clearly concluded based on complaints received from viewers about the station's coverage of weather and local news as well as the fact that the station has devoted increased time to national news. While these seem understandable, one needs to question the provided evidence and explore indepth if they hold water.

Firstly, the manager assumes that local businesses that used to advertise during the late night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. This assumption needs more evidence as to why they cancelled. Is there data around the conversion of the adverts? Perhaps the businessess have found out that their customers prefer to listen to a different channel or prefer to listen to the station during the day and not in the night. Providing more evidence that answers the 'why' question would give more insight and strenghten the manager's conclusion.

Secondly, the manager assumes that restoring the time dedicated to weather and local news would 'attract' more viewers. While this seems like a logical thing to do, requesting for more evidence around this is in order. With the advent and speed of technology, different channels for consuming news have emerged and based off this, it may not be a laudable step to take. The manager needs to provide some more insight as to what viewers are requesting for - and what keeps the station attractive to them. Perhaps, opening up new streaming, ondemand or social media channels can help attract new user. This can be done, for example, via a survey targeting the specific kind of market/viewers they want. With this information at hand, the manager can be very sure that restoring the time is the solution to attracting more viewers.

In addition, the manager writes that complaints received from viewers in this time period were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. More evidence needs to be provided here. Data as to what kind of complaints - whether it was time based, or the kind of presenters or the nature or even technical issues. With more insights here, the manager can more strongly back his argument for an extended time.

In conclusion, while the manager has made assumptions based on the insight he/she has, providing more evidence on the above assumptions would go a long way in making the manager's claims stronger. This in turn would help the station to move forward in the right direction.