'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The scenario presented here states that in a particular television station all the late night programs of weather and local news majorly have been replaced by national news. Due to this, they have lost their advertising revenues and received complaints from people. The argument says, to eschew this they should devote more time to local and weather news. At first looks, this argument seems plausible but on careful consideration, we observe that it is rife with unanswered questions and assumptions. More evidence is required before we can warrant this argument.

The first question that arises is that the locals have complained about their concern with local and weather news. It is not specifically mentioned that what locals want. Do they really want to increase time coverage of local and weather news over national news? Or it is some different issue that they are facing with the news at that time. It might be the case they are actually happy with the time allotted to weather and local news but it is the content which is not interesting them. They might want a report which is covering topics which interest them or have better coverage of local news instead of what is being telecasted now.

It can be the case they want to switch the timing of the local and weather news and are actually satisfied with the time duration devoted to this news. Without organising proper surveys and analysis of those, we can't answer the question that what their actual complains and demands are. Therefore the present evidence provided that concerns were related to these 2 specific types of news does not indicate their actual demands and is too vague to consider.

On the same note, there is a hypothesis that due to this change only advertising revenue is suffering and local business cancelled their contact. It is obscure to extrapolate that due to this reason, they cancelled their contract. It might be the case that they are switching to other television station because of low fees there or that station getting better TRP than this station. It can be due to other different reasons also apart from increase time coverage of national news. So before concluding that this evidence is sufficient, we need to cancel out other probable reasons. For this, the station can directly contact the manager or the appropriate contact person at all these businesses to get to know the actual reason, instead of simply forming a conjecture about it.

Another question we need to ask is when did the station start receiving these complaints from customers. Was it after the change or before the change? This question also plays an important role in finding the actual cause behind the complaints. If it is after the change then the evidence provided might be helpful and people are actually dissatisfied with the time duration of local and weather news. This evidence along with other proofs such as surveys would further bolster the argument stated.

In the end, I would like to conclude that the evidence provided is not sufficient to state that increasing more time to national news is creating a problem. More evidence needed to be validated and vindicated before we can come to the conclusion that the argument provided by the author is warranted.